Spider’s Sonnet

Standard

spider web+

I want to shift my shape and stalk

across a jeweled dew-dropped web

spinning a spiral tunnel as I walk

all corners anchored firm to fight the ebb

and push of errant breeze or stormy blow

snug against all tricks Fate might deliver.

When it’s finished I will back on tip-toe

down my chute, stop to sever silken thread

curb my hunger patiently, crouch in a

waiting trance, anticipating nothing.

I rely on heaven-sent sweet manna.

Some hasty flighty creature on the wing

will bumble in my net and stick there fast

to offer me refreshment and repast.

©2000 Christine Irving

One response »

  1. I have been singing since I can remember.
    One of the things that I used to do when I was a child, was sing directly into spider webs.
    It was so interesting to watch a spider search every strand, looking for that tasty thing that was vibrating within its web. No matter how hard or how long they searched, no spider ever found it. The “thing” that was shaking their webs was vibration itself!

    Like

Leave a comment. We want to hear from you.

