In the Shadow of the Forest

Standard

Waiting in the Shadow

To me, the scariest part of the Red Riding Hood story comes when the wolf dresses up in Grandmother’s clothes. He pretends to be something he’s not in order to fool Red while intending her harm. It’s pretty easy to figure out why this is my negative – I grew up with a mother prone to fits of rage – she could turn on a dime from ordinary mom to a raging fury. Scary. The huntsman could easily be a stand-in for the dad meant to protect me. Although he never approved of her angry outbursts, he believed parents should “present a united front.” Their behavior left me with a lifelong aversion to hypocrisy and a desperate (at least for the first couple of decades) need both to understand how things work and to see them for what they really are. All in all, not such a negative legacy. Both traits stood me in good stead. The drive to understand is a blessing, for as I’ve come to learn, understanding engenders forgiveness and provides the ground from which compassion may arise.

Much has changed since my childhood – more relevantly, much has expanded – mind, heart, memory, information, compassion and comprehension have all increased in capacity. The space taken up in my interior landscape by childhood trauma is decreasing proportionally. In fact, I can now fit it onto an 8×10 piece of canvas covered cardboard. Not that the over-size fangs, preternatural hearing and x-ray vision don’t still lurk in the shadows. Of course, they do. The evidence of their power is right here; captured in the imagery I chose to use.

But let’s go back to the benefits of my shadowy legacy. Not only was I frightened of those huge teeth, ears and eyes – I wanted their power for myself. Just now, writing these words I didn’t expect to say, that have never even occurred to me before, I begin to understand. I used to think I owed my talent for acute observation to the need to gauge my mother’s moods quickly. Probably true, but also (also being one of my most favorite words), I now see that I probably sharpened the acuity of my own senses in order to acquire some of the power those amplified sense organs could bestow.

See how this process works? I could have sworn I’d figured out everything about the dynamic between my young mother and the girl-child I once was. Yet, the collage has revealed a new piece of information. I understand more about why I am what I am. Once again I get to marvel at the interrelatedness of the universe, the prevalence of synchronicity and the elegance of cosmic timing. I am more connected; more humble, easier than I was when I started. Halleluiah.

2 responses »

  1. WOW AGAIN. AMAZING HOW THINGS WERE REVEALED TO YOU NOT ONLY DOING THE COLLAGE, BUT YOUR EXPLAINING IT JUST NOW REVEALED MORE TO YOU OF YOUR SELF. YOU ARE PROFOUND WOMAN.

    Hugs

    P

    Like

    • Thanks Patricia – I’m always surprised at how willing our sub-conscious minds are to show us things, if we just open the door. I like doing my dreamwork with a collage because I don’t have to remember the dream, I have it right there in my hands. With a collage I can by-pass words until I’m ready for them, With dreamwork I have to write down the dream in order to remember it – the act of writing changes it, if only because of my word choice, so even before I’ve started the dream has lost some of its ambiguity. With the collage the images retain their mystery and meaning can emerge in its own time.

      Like

Leave a comment. We want to hear from you.

